Deaconate General Fellowship

Mafutaga Aoao a Tiakono

Patea Patea, Elder Deacon

Mamea Sala, Elder Deacon
Vice Moderator

Siaki Liu, Deacon


The Deaconate General Fellowship (Mafutaga Aoao a Tiakono), is inclusive of all ordained Deacons and Deaconesses who serve in member congregations of the CCCAS.

The Deaconate office is an important office within any Christain church.  Based on the role of the ‘diakonos’ in the early church (greek – ‘diakonos’ which literally means ‘servant’), the office of Deacon is ordained primarily to minister to the physical needs of the members of the body of Christ.  In Samoan Christianity, especially the CCCAS, while the minister provides for the spiritual development of the church, the deacon is responsible for the physical side.  

As an auxiliary fellowship of the CCCAS, the Deaconate General Fellowship has its own policies and procedures for governance and carrying out their ministerial activities.  Led by the Elder Deacons who represent each Region of the CCCAS, the Deaconate General Fellowship elect their own fellowship officers who manage and oversee the affairs of the General Fellowship.  They are lead by a Fellowship Moderator (Ta’ita’i), a Vice Moderator (Sui Ta’ita’i), a Secretary (Failautusi), and Treasurer (Teutupe). 

The Deaconate General Fellowship are granted six seats in the General Assembly and are allowed the opportunity to present motions for deliberation within the General Assembly.

Only second to the Women’s General Fellowship in terms of membership, the Deaconate General Fellowship are true to their motto – “Servants Reliant Upon the Lord” – in how they contribute to the ministry and mission of the CCCAS.