Our Organization

The Congregational Christian Church of American Samoa (CCCAS) adheres to the “congregationalist” model of church organization.  While there are differing views regarding the nature of this model of church organization, there are two significant characteristics of this model that are meticulously observed in the organization of the CCCAS.  First, the autonomous independence of each member congregation in deciding their own local church affairs; and second, adhering to the General Assembly as the highest decision making body of the entire church organization.

The CCCAS General Assembly convenes biannually for two weeks during the month of July at its headquarters in Kanana Fou, American Samoa.  The General Assembly is made up of delegates representing all CCCAS member congregations who come together to deliberate and discuss matters pertaining to the mission and ministry of the Church as a whole.  At the conclusion of the General Assembly, elections are held for Church Officers who are responsible for overseeing the execution of the resolutions passed by the General Assembly, as well as manage the daily operations of the CCCAS from the Central Office located in Kanana Fou.  These officers include: the Moderator (Ta’ita’ifono), Vice Moderator (Sui Ta’ita’ifono), General Secretary (Failautusi Aoao), and Treasurer (Teutupe); together referred to as the Church Officers of the General Assembly (Laulaufono a le Fono Tele).
The work of the Church is divided among six Standing Committees:  the Elders’ Committee (Komiti ‘Au Toeaina), responsible for ordination and ministerial affairs that involve the clergy; the Finance Committee (Komiti o Tupe), who deals with church’s finances; the Development Committee (Komiti o Atina’e), who deals with raising funds for the work of the church; the General Purposes Committee (Komiti o Feau Eseese), who deals with building projects; the Education Committee (Komiti o Aoga) who deals with education programs; and the Missions Committee (Komiti Fa’a-Misionare), who deals with the church’s missionary projects.

There are also independent auxiliary Fellowships that contribute to the mission and ministry of the CCCAS: the Women’s General Fellowship (Mafutaga Aoao a Tina), the Christian Endeavors’ Fellowship (Mafutaga ‘Au Taumafai), the Prayer Watchers’ Fellowship (Mafutaga ‘Au Leoleo), the Deaconate General Fellowship (Mafutaga Aoao a Tiakono), and the Youth General Fellowship (Mafutaga Aoao a Tupulaga).  Sanctioned and recognized by the General Assembly, each of these auxiliary fellowships engage in their own specialized work that contribute to the mission and ministry of the CCCAS.

Each member congregation is represented in these Committees and Fellowships by way of the Region (Matagaluega) and District (Pulega) in which they are members of.  There are a total of 10 Regions altogether that constitute the CCCAS (Eastern-AS, Western-AS, Central-AS, Manu’atele-AS, Hawaii, Northern California, Southern California, American Northwest, New Zealand & Australia, and Alaska).  

Within these 10 Regions, there are a total of 24 Districts (Vaifanua, Sua, Sa’ole, Fagaloa, Ituau, Tualauta & Leasina, Tualatai & Aitulagi, Fofo & Alataua, Fale-Ta’u, Fale-Luanu’u, Hawaii East, Hawaii West, Oceanside & San Diego, Northern Los Angeles, Southern Los Angeles, Santa Clara, San Francisco, Tacoma-USO, Seattle, Alaska North, Alaska South, Auckland, Wellington, Sydney).  Based on their locality, each member congregation is part of a specific District and Region of the CCCAS.  As a result, this ensures that they are represented in the different Committees and Fellowships that carry out the mission and ministry of the CCCAS.